Domain and Its Types

A Domain name is an identification that defines a administrative autonomy, authority or control within the internet. This is used for various networking contexts and for application specific naming and for addressing purpose.

Domain Name allow users to easily connect to other computer IP Address by typing .com or .in like in

The Domain Name is categorized into three parts:

  1. Generic Domain: This types of domains are Registered host according to their generic behaviour like .gov , .org

  2. Country Domains: This type of domain uses two characters country abbreviation like for India .in is used.

  3. Inverse Domain: This type of Domain Name is used to address the maps like

Types of Domain:

  1. Top-Level Domain (TLD)

  2. Country Code Top-level Domain (ccTLD)

  3. Generic Top Level Domain (gTLD)

  4. Second Level Domain (SLD)

  5. Third Level Domain (Sub Domain)

Top-Level Domain (TLD)

Top-level domains, or TLDs for short, represent the highest level of name resolution in the domain name system hierarchy. As a domain component of the highest level, a top-level domain always appears as the last part of a web address (to the right of the last dot), which is why TLDs are also referred to as domain endings. In the domain example already used,, the top-level domain is the address part org.

Following are some of the Top Level Domain name:

  1. .com Open domain for commercial web offers

  2. .org Open TLD for non-profit organizations

  3. .net Open address for Internet service providers

  4. .int Strictly limited extension for internationally operating companies, organizations, and programs

  5. .edu Domain intended for trade schools and universities

  6. .gov Domain for US government institutions

  7. .mil TLD available only to departments, services, and agencies of the U.S. Department of Defense

Country Code Top