Configure Site Use Confirmation And Deletion In SharePoint 2013 Central Administration


In this article, we will see how to configure site use confirmation & deletion of a site collection in SharePoint 2013 Central Admin. Here, we can automate the service of deleting a site collection, if it is not being used for a period of time.

This helps in maintaining the Servers and in automating the deletion of the sites, when not in use.


How to configure?

Let’s open Central Admin of SharePoint on your machine. On your Windows desktop screen, click Start >> Administrative Tools >> SharePoint 2013 Central Administration.


  • Run it as an administrator to have the elevated privileges.

  • You will see the screenshot given below.


  • Central Admin is configured under the categories given below.

  • Click on Application Management.


  • Go to Web Applications >> Under Site Collections.


  • Click on “Confirm Site use and deletion”.You will see the screen given below.


Configuration

  • Web Application Choose the Web Application, where you want to configure the automation of deletion.

  • Settings

  1. Email Notification Here, you can send an email notification, if the site collection is not being used for your defined period of time. This will send an email to the admin on a daily, weekly or monthly basis, as you configure. You can also configure the count of notifications, which you should be sending.

  2. Automatically Delete Here, you can configure if you want to delete the site collection automatically after a certain number of notices are sent automatically.

Once you complete the configuration, click OK and the setting will be applied to all the site collections in the selected Web.


Here, in this article, we saw how to configure site use confirmation & deletion in SharePoint, using Central Administration. There are more to come on Central Administration. Until then keep reading and keep learning.

Recent Posts

See All